Certification Exams


CMVA offers online, ISO 17024 Accredited, certification exams for Category I, II, and III vibration specialists. All exams are in compliance with the International Standard Organization’s ISO 18436-2.

These exams can be attempted after receiving the recommended training and experience as called for by ISO 18436-2. This includes study in specified areas for specified periods of instruction. These prerequisites can be found both in the performance objectives and the exam application form.

For more information on certification, please download the Performance Objectives document for each category:

If you plan to write a certification exam, please download the registration form below:

CMVA Certification exam application form

We recommend you read it thoroughly to understand the certification requirements. Then complete the form, apply required signatures and return the 3 pages to director@cmva.com for approval.  Please ensure all fields relevant to Section A are completed and all required information is provided, as improperly completed forms add significant delays to this process.

Please note that it will take a minimum of 2 weeks from the date of submission of the exam registration form for approval before your exam can be written.  This process can take even longer when Remote Proctoring via AI technology (see below) is required, and further if this route is chosen, a Practice Quiz must be completed in advance of scheduling the Certification Exam.

When do I receive my grades ?

Once your exam is submitted, you can expect to receive your grade (passed or failed) within 1 to 2 weeks.

When do I receive my certificate?

Certificates are usually delivered within 1 month after the exam is graded, if all conditions are met according to ISO 18436-2.

Covid-19 and Remote Proctoring for Online Examinations